2014 Primary runoffs conclude

After yesterday’s runoff elections, we now have a much better idea of what the makeup of the 2015 legislature is going to be. Approximately 90% of Texas’ political offices are determined in the primary election, meaning there are very few races that are competitive in the general election in November. While there were certainly some victories to celebrate in the runoff, public education is likely to face an uphill battle in the next meeting of the Texas Legislature in January.

In statewide runoff races, Senator Dan Patrick (R-Houston) defeated incumbent Republican Lt. Governor David Dewhurst. Patrick will face Senator Leticia Van de Putte (D-San Antonio) in the general election. Senator Ken Paxton (R-McKinney) defeated State Representative Dan Branch in the Attorney General runoff and will face Sam Houston (D-Houston).

Below is a full recap of the legislative and State Board of Education (SBOE) election contests decided Tuesday:

Dallas area:

                Democratic Primary

● SBOE District 13: Erika Beltran defeated Andrea Hilburn

●House District 105: Susan Motley defeated Terry Meza

                Republican Primary

●Senate District 2: Bob Hall defeated incumbent Sen. Bob Deuell

●House District 66: Matt Shaheen defeated Glenn Callison

●House District 102: Linda Koop defeated incumbent Rep. Stefani Carter

●House District 108: Morgan Meyer defeated Chart Westcott

Ft. Worth area:

                Republican Primary

●SBOE District 11: Incumbent Patricia “Pat” Hardy defeated Eric Mahroum

●Senate District 10: Konni Burton defeated Mark Shelton

●House District 58: DeWayne Burns defeated Philip Eby


                Republican Primary

●House District 10: John Wray defeated T.J. Fabby

Houston area:

                Republican Primary

House District 129: Dennis Paul defeated Sheryl Berg

●House District 132: Mike Schofield defeated Ann Hodge

Conroe/The Woodlands (and parts of Chambers, Harris, and Jefferson Counties):

                Republican Primary

●House District 16: Will Metcalf defeated Ted Seago

South Central Texas:

                Republican Primary

House District 53: Andrew Murr defeated Rob Henneke

El Paso:

                Democratic Primary

●House District 76: Cesar Blanco defeated Norma Chavez


For more information on candidates and their views on public education visit Texas Parent PAC and the 2014 Races section of TeachtheVote.org.

Share Button

3 thoughts on “2014 Primary runoffs conclude

    1. Julie Tyler

      No way will I vote for a Democrat and I resent any teacher group that is supposed to represent me tell me what to vote. I am for less government, the 2nd Amendment, Open Carry, No Amnesty, No Obamacare, no Common Core, no C-Scope, Pro-Life, Traditional Marriage, and parent choice in their schools PLUS doing away with the Dept. Of Education.

  1. Merry Creager

    ATPE does not tell us who to vote for. They simply inform us of the candidates position(s).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *